Utopian is the third part of a trilogy which began with Star Smile Strong (2017), and continued with Our Future In Space (2018). Ian feels he is at a creative zenith at this point and wanted to deliver a three-part knock-out, in which he believes he has succeeded based on the material already written for this new project. If you enjoyed the previous two releases we are sure you won't be disappointed with this one. Many songs have been written for the album and new material keeps on coming. Some recording has been done but due to Ian's road commitments in 2019 the hard work starts in January 2020.

Some song titles: Boy, The Sun Came Out At Night, Jivin' Miss Daisy, Swiss Army Knife Of Fuerteventura, Deserter, The Outlaw, No One Tells A Lie Like A Dude With A Tie, The Old Grey Lady, You Bring Good Things, Protection.

The album will be available on CD and 180g double gatefold vinyl. It will not be available for download or on streaming services until the initial run of physical copies has been serviced to pre-orders.

Thank you for your continued patronage.



Hi everyone,

The new album is now available and it sees Ian reuniting with his friends from Cold Shoulder - Andy Lord-Ashton and Christopher Kearney. Ian, Andy and Chris have collaborated on two albums so far 'Eclectic Warrior' and 'Krugerrands' both of which focus on the heavier side of Ian's music, a stripped down, as-recorded-live two guitars, bass and drums set up, very reminiscent of Ian's work with Crazy Horse in the mid-nineties.

Both albums featured different drummers and in this tradition the man on the kit this time around is Steve 'Smiley' Barnard. Steve's list of achievements include playing on records and performing live with Robbie Williams, Joe Strummer and The Mescalaros (which he followed Ged Lynch into - another drummer Ian has worked with), The Mock Turtles, From The Jam and The Alarm. Steve is currently touring Europe with French band Archive. Ian and Steve were brought together by their mutual late friend BBC Radio Wales DJ Alan Thompson. The new album is dedicated to his memory.

Some titles for you to savour in anticipation; Supermoon, Reeperbahn, The Day I Learned To Say No, Vodka Rivers And Cigarette Trees, Makin' Silver Sing, Medicated Emma, Girls From Across The Water, Our Future In Space.

The album was recorded in Liverpool with Chris Taylor producing/engineering. Chris worked on both previous McNabb/Cold Shoulder recordings.

NEW - Merseybeast Audio Book

Good news - the long out of print McNabb autobiography 'Merseybeast' is back in a brand new audio book format.

Ian took himself into the studio earlier this year and recorded this 10 hour opus for your listening pleasure.

Limited supplies of this firestick / memory stick release are available which will come boxed with artwork and signed personally by Ian.


Price includes postage

Get digital downloads via bandcamp


The majority of Ian's catalogue (including Star Smile Strong and the extremely rare 'Boots' set) is now available in hi-res digital down load via bandcamp - follow the link for details!

Star Smile Strong - Out Now


Hello music lovers!

Star Smile Strong is here!!

My last album of all original material was Eclectic Warrior (2013). Apart from one new tune Gravy, you have had re-recordings of old songs and covers since then. I have amassed a wealth of new material and feel the songs on this new album are probably the best I have written to date.

It was great to get in the studio with Mathew Priest, Richard Naiff and Roy Corkill and record with them. Ciaron Bell (Great Things, Little Episodes, Eclectic Warrior, Respectfully Yours) has again produced.

I have been playing with these guys for over ten years as the Ian McNabb Band and The Icicle Works but we still haven't made a record together - until now.

The album also includes a tune which I have co-written with Ralph Molina (Crazy Horse) called This Love I Feel For You which we're both very pleased with, along with guest appearances by Prof. Brian Cox and my good friend Chris Sharrock.

Many thanks for your continued support, I honestly cannot do this without you and me and my dear old mum (82) love you all and thank you for keeping us in McNabb Towers.

All together now "Star, Smile, Strong!"

IMc x

'Respectfully Yours' - The Covers Album



Changes (Black Sabbath)
Pocahontas (Neil Young)
Run To Me (Bee Gees)
Baltimore (Randy Newman)
Life On Mars? (David Bowie)
The Killing Moon (Echo And The Bunnymen)
Montague Terrace In Blue (Scott Walker)
Memory Motel (Rolling Stones)
The Crystal Ship (Doors)
Time Ain't Nothin' (Green On Red)

Many thanks for your patronage, it isn't taken lightly trust me. IMc February 2016

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player